9th Conference European Sociological Association

RN01 Ageing in Europe

2009-09-03 13:30:00 2009-09-03 15:00:00 Thursday, 3 September 13:30 - 15:00 Ageing and Technology 2 Building II, C5.08

Design of Environments for Ageing

The ageing of society challenges not only the financing of social insurance systems, which is mostly focused in public discussions, but also regarding basic conditions for successful and productive ageing, care of high age people, support of family caregivers, social participation and, in particular, the retention of independence and the preservation of quality of life in general. The possibilities in this field to intervene by means of technical developments involve a wide variety of topics like prevention (primary, secondary, tertiary) and rehabilitation, compensation (e.g. age specific losses in sensory perception), physical, social and psychic support of the elderly as well as their networks (e.g. in daily routine or communication) - and not least the generation of improved data bases and communication structures for medical science and supply.

The paper provides an overview on the subject and presents first results from the "Lower Saxony Research Network Design of Environments for Ageing - Information and Communication Technologies for Promoting and Sustaining Quality of Life, Health and Self-sufficiency in the Second Half of Life - (GAL)" that aims to identify, to enhance and to evaluate new techniques of information and communication technology for design of environments for ageing.

Please Note: The Authors are
Harald Künemund (presenter) with Jens-E. Appell, Hans-Jürgen Appelrath, Susanne Boll, Marco Eichelberg, Uwe Fachinger, Mehmet Gövercin, Reinhold Haux, Andreas Hein, Wilko Heuten, Volker Hohmann, Rainer Huber, Manfred Hülsken-Giesler, Matthias Kiy, Harald Künemund, Michael Marschollek, Markus Meis, Jochen Meyer, Wolfgang Nebel, Franz J. Neyer, Petra-Karin Okken, Maik Plischke, Hartmut Remmers, Meinhard Schilling, Gisela C. Schulze, Elisabeth Steinhagen-Thiessen, Uwe Tegtbur, Wilfried Thoben, Friedrich Michael Wahl, Simon Winkelbach, Manfred Wittrock, Klaus-Hendrik Wolf & Lars Wolf